A Bowed Hiromoto

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by The Smith, Sep 12, 2017.

1. The Smith

The Smith

Exp:
    Home Cook
    [​IMG]

I've had this Hiromoto for a bit over two years. It's proved difficult to sharpen, and when I sighted it today, I found this:
    [​IMG]

I'm new to nicer knives like the Hiromoto, and never thought to sight it for straightness when it first arrived. I'm a guitarist, and I always sight a guitar's neck before purchasing...I guess the same principle holds true. I don't know if the knife arrived like this, or if it happened afterwards; The knife has never been abused here, to my knowledge. I know that the man who made Hiromoto knives recently retired.

My question is, what are my options at this point?

Thanks in advance.

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    I get some of that when I crush garlic or the salt and knife drag technique for garlic paste. I make it a point now to use the "off" side of the blade as well to keep the forces and use balanced. Seems to help in my case at least.

3. The Smith

The Smith

Exp:
    Home Cook
    ^ I'm not sure I understand. Are you saying that the bow is negligible and nothing to worry about?

4. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Negligible is relative. Do you crush garlic or ginger with the flat of the blade? If you do, you can influence the blade to a more neutral position depending which side of the blade you use for these tasks and techniques.
    Martin Yan and Jeff Smith whacked these things with the flats and that can give some bend/bias in relation to the handle. I learned to cook from those two.

scott livesey likes this.
  5. The Smith

The Smith

Exp:
    Home Cook
    No, I don't use the knife like that. Also, doesn't a knife that's bowed to the degree mine is become difficult to sharpen on a water stone?

6. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer