4th of July BBQ

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by nmikmik, Jun 21, 2014.

1. nmikmik

nmikmik

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hi,

I need some recommendations on what and how to cook for the 4th of July BBQ.

I learned the hard way that too much is just what it is.  Had too many varieties of food last time and ended up running myself to the ground. If you can't tell, I am not a professional in any sense of that word :)

This year I am thinking of just having few appetizer dishes that I can preferably prepare the day before, one fish dish and two variations of the same grilled chicken thighs (one spicy one is not) .

I am still debating on what marinade I want to use for the chicken. I tried the yogurt marinated (bought vanilla flavored yogurt by mistake) and the "crew" did not like it. Pineapple marinade always worked for me, but in both cases I just feel that chicken is lacking flavor no matter how much I infuse the marinade with garlic and spices. Just thought, maybe I could grill my chicken the day before as well and then make some kind of a sauce and put it all together in the pot to simmer and serve hot right out of the pot? This way the sauce should carry the flavor with the chicken i guess.

BTW, I personally love the Korean food and would love to make something that resembles it, just not the sweet meat.

Thank you in advance.

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Marinades don't really penetrate that far, especially if it's skin on.  So it's best with thin cuts, small chunks and such. Brining chicken is what many will recommend to pump the flavor of the chicken. It works, but it sort of changes the chicken as well and not everyone is a fan.

Further breast is very lean and bland. The thighs have more fat and are worked more which helps develop flavor. Stay away from sugar,fruit, and tomato in the marinade. Those ingredients burn easily on the grill. They're better as a final finshing glaze.