3-day sous-vide short ribs smell yeasty?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by sousvideerryday, Dec 15, 2014.

1. sousvideerryday

sousvideerryday

Exp:
    At home cook
    I recently got an Anova and this is my first time making short ribs. I'm wondering if I did something wrong and they possibly might not be edible due to weird smell/colour.

I seasoned them with salt and pepper on one side only and cooked them at 130°F for 3 days, I have no vacuum sealer so I used the water displacement method with Glad freezer bags. When I first put them in as the water bath was coming back up to temp the display on the Anova froze at 126° and I didn't notice till half an hour later, I unplugged it and plugged it back in, the temp had gone up to 156°, yikes! So I removed hot water and added cold water till it was at 130°. The next day I opened a bag and ate a small sliver to see if they were overcooked, it was still pink & tender, so I put it back and left it for 2 more days.

Today I took out the bag I had opened 2 days ago and seared the ribs, putting the other 2 bags in a bowl of ice water to chill. The first thing I noticed before I seared the ribs was that there was a somewhat odd, slightly yeasty odor when I opened the bag. I figured nbd, they'll be fine after searing. So I sear them and take a bite... weird flavor. Now I've never had plain short ribs seasoned with only salt and pepper as these were so I'm wondering if it's just the flavor of the ribs themselves or some bacteria that may have grown due to air bubbles in the bag or too low temp or improper submersion of the bag despite me checking on them regularly and topping up with hot water.

I ended up spitting out my first bite out of fear because I've had food poisoning a few times before and don't want to repeat the experience.