The Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

Buy Now:
Amazon.com
Price:
$5.00
By:
Agate Surrey
  • Henry's Farm is in central Illinois, some of the richest farming land in the world. There, Henry Brockman and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra — farm in a way that produces healthy, nutritious food without despoiling the land. Terra Brockman tells their story in the form of a yearlong diary/memoir — with recipes — that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber. The book opens a window into what sustainable farming really entails and why it is vital and relevant to everyone who eats. Though rooted in the rolling oak-hickory hills and fertile fields and flood plains of the Mackinaw River Valley, the book ranges widely, incorporating literary, scientific, and culinary reflections occasioned by the week-by-week events of farm life.
  • Author:
    Terra Brockman
    Binding:
    Hardcover
    Dewey Decimal Number:
    635.048409773
    EAN:
    9781572841031
    ISBN:
    1572841036
    Label:
    Agate Surrey
    Languages:
    English
    List Price:
    $25.00
    Manufacturer:
    Agate Surrey
    Number Of Items:
    1
    Number Of Pages:
    320
    Product Group:
    Book
    Product Type Name:
    ABIS_BOOK
    Publication Date:
    2009-10-01
    Publisher:
    Agate Surrey
    Studio:
    Agate Surrey
    Title:
    The Seasons on Henry's Farm: A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm
    Feature:
    Notes: Brand New from Publisher. No Remainder Mark.
    Creator:
    Deborah Madison

Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!