Culinary School Review Contest

By nicko, Jun 8, 2015 | | |
  1. Culinary School Review Contest

    Read below to find out how you can win one of three amazing prizes:​
     ​

    1st place

    Jende Custom Leather Knife Roll (Valued at $500.00)​
     ​
     ​

     

    2nd place

    Jende Spirit Blade Custom Petty (Valued at $450.00)​
     ​

     

    3rd place

     ​

     ​
     ​

    Enter the ChefTalk.com Culinary School Review Contest (Starting (6/8/15)

    How do you enter?​
     ​
    1. Post a review of the culinary school you attended in the past or our currently attending in the ChefTalk.com: Culinary School Reviews section. It doesn't matter how long ago you attended school.
    2. Culinary School Reviews must be well written, informative, honest and helpful to future culinary students considering the school. 
    3. Culinary School Reviews will be judged according to the following equally weighted factors::
      • Clarity
      • Originality
      • The degree to which the entry is informed and appropriate;
      • Overall content of review. Review should include such topics (but not limited to) quality of school, instructors, cost and financing, ability to find a job after.
    4. Culinary School Reviews will be judged by ChefTalk.com staff who will select the winners. 
    5. Contest open to US residents only (see official rules below). 
    6. Please read official rules below to see if you are eligible to participate.
    7. Contest ends 7/07/15 .
    8. If you DO NOT see your culinary school read   to learn how to add your your culinary school. If you get stuck ask one of the ChefTalk staff to help you add it. (PM @Nicko and we will get your culinary school added asap). 

    “Culinary School Review” Contest

    OFFICIAL RULES


    Sponsored by Jende Industries (“Sponsor”).

    NO ENTRY FEE.  NO PURCHASE NECESSARY TO ENTER OR WIN.  The Contest begins at 12:00 AM Central Time (“CT”) 06/08/15 and ends at 11:59:59 PM CT 07/07/15 (the “Contest Period”).

    1. Eligibility: The “Culinary School Review” Contest (the “Contest”) is open to legal residents of the fifty (50) United States or the District of Columbia, aged eighteen (18) or older as of the date of entry, who have an active e-mail account and Internet access.  Employees of Sponsor, Sponsor’s parent company, affiliates, subsidiaries, advertising, promotion, fulfillment or other coordinating agencies, individuals providing services to Sponsor through an outsourcer or temporary employment agency during the Contest Period, and their respective immediate family members and persons living in their same household, are not eligible to participate in the Contest.  Participation in the Contest constitutes entrant’s full and unconditional agreement to and acceptance of these Official Contest Rules (“Official Rules”). VOID WHERE PROHIBITED.  

    2. How to Enter: Entrants must be registered members of ChefTalk.com.  Entrants must be signed in to their ChefTalk.com account and post a review of the culinary school they attended or are currently attending.  Entrants must perform required actions (i) before the end of the Contest Period.

    To be an “Eligible Entry” the Member must:

    (i)         Post a well written review of the culinary school you attended or our currently attending in the ChefTalk.com Culinary School Reviews section

    Each member is only allowed one entry. Any repeat reviews by members will not be counted towards eligibility.

    No mechanically reproduced entries are allowed and any use of robotic, automatic, programmed or the like entry methods will void all such entries by such methods.

    3. Prize Drawing:  All qualified Submissions will be judged by a panel of ChefTalk.com's senior editorial team.  The Submissions will be judged according to the following equally weighted factors: (i) clarity; (ii) originality; (iii) the degree to which the entry is informed and appropriate; and (iv) quality of content. The decisions of the judges will be final. A Submission must be an original work of entrant's own creation and must not have been entered in any other competition.  A Submission may not violate the intellectual property or proprietary rights of other parties.

    Entrant represents and warrants that any Submission is entrant’s own original work and does not infringe the intellectual property or proprietary rights of any third party, including, without limitation, any third party copyrights or trademarks.  Consequently, Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc. shall have all rights to copy, edit, publicly display, publicly perform, broadcast, publish and use, in whole or in part, any Submission and any other intellectual property protected or protectable materials submitted by entrant, in any manner without further compensation during and after the Contest Period.  Entrant hereby assigns, conveys and transfers and agrees to assign, convey and transfer all, right, title and interest in and to his or her Submission and any intellectual property rights therein to Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc.  Entrant agrees to execute and deliver such documents and provide all assistance reasonably requested by Sponsor to give to Sponsor the full benefit of the rights granted to Sponsor by entrant.  Entrant hereby agrees not to instigate, support, maintain or authorize any action, claim or lawsuit against the Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc., or any other person, on the grounds that any use of the Submission as provided herein, infringes any of entrant’s rights as creator of the Submission, including, without limitation, trademark rights, copyrights and moral rights.  Nothing herein shall constitute an employment, joint venture, or partnership relationship between entrant and Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc.

    4. Prizes and Odds:  The prizes to be awarded from the Contest are as set forth below:

    1st place.       Jende Custom Leather Knife Roll 

    2nd place.      Jende Spirit Blade Custom Petty

    3rd place.       JChef Pak Edge Backpack and Knife Case

    The odds of winning a prize depend on the total number of eligible entries received. No cash or substitution of prizes is permitted, except at the sole option of Sponsor for a prize of equal or greater value. Sponsors will not replace any lost or stolen prizes. 

    5. Notification of Winners: Judging will take place on or about 07/15/15. Each potential prize winner will be notified by e-mail to the email address associated with his or her ChefTalk.com account profile from which the Submission was made on or about 07/15/15. Without limiting any other terms of these Official Rules, if a potential winner cannot be contacted, is ineligible, OR fails to claim a prize, the potential winner(s) will be disqualified and forfeit their right to a prize, and an alternate winner will be selected from remaining valid, eligible Submissions timely submitted. In the event of a dispute regarding who submitted a Submission, the Submission will be deemed submitted by the authorized account holder of the e-mail address associated with the ChefTalk.com Forums account profile from which the Submission was made.  "Authorized account holder" is defined as the natural person who is assigned to an e-mail address by an Internet access provider, online service provider, or other organization (e.g., business, educational institution, etc.) that is responsible for assigning e-mail addresses for the domain associated with the submitted e-mail address.

    6. General Rules: By entering the Contest, you agree to be bound by these Official Rules. Sponsor and any Internet access providers, each of their respective parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, advertising and promotion agencies, and all of their agents, officers, directors, shareholders, employees and agents (collectively, “Released Parties”) disclaim any responsibility for incorrect or inaccurate Submission of Submission information, human error, technical malfunctions, lost / delayed data transmission, omission, interruption, deletion, defect, line failures of any telephone network, computer equipment, software or any combination thereof, inability to access any web site or download materials, damage to a user's computer system (hardware and software) due to participation in the Contest, or late, lost or incomplete Submissions (including entry information). Sponsor reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to cancel, modify or suspend the Contest in whole or in part, in the event of fraud, technical or other difficulties or if the integrity of the Contest is compromised, without liability to entrants. Sponsor reserves the right to disqualify any entrant or winner, as determined by Sponsor, in its sole discretion.  Any attempt to deliberately damage any web site or undermine the legitimate operation of the Contest is unlawful and subject to legal action by the Sponsor or its designees. 

    Entrants further agree to release, indemnify, defend and hold the Released Parties, harmless, from any and all claims, injuries, damages, expenses or losses to person or property and/or liabilities of any nature that in any way arise from participation in the Contest or acceptance or use of a prize or parts thereof, including without limitation (i) any condition caused by events beyond Sponsor’s control that may cause the Contest to be disrupted or corrupted; (ii) any injuries, losses, or damages (compensatory, direct, incidental, consequential or otherwise) of any kind arising in connection with or as a result of the prize, or acceptance, possession, or use of the prize, or from participation in the Contest; and (iii) any printing or typographical errors in any materials associated with the Contest.

    In no event will Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, OR WIKIA, INC be liable to you for any direct, special, incidental, exemplary, punitive or consequential damages (including loss of use, data, business or profits) arising out of or in connection with your participation in the Contest, whether such liability arises from any claim based upon contract, warranty, tort (including negligence), strict liability or otherwise, and whether or not Sponsor HAS been advised of the possibility of such loss or damage.  Some jurisdictions do not allow the limitation or exclusion of liability for incidental or consequential damages, so the above limitation or exclusion may not apply to you.

    7.  Additional Conditions: Except where prohibited, by participating in the Contest, entrant consents to the use of his/her name, photo and/or likeness, biographical information, entry and statements attributed to entrant (if true) for advertising and promotional purposes, including without limitation, inclusion in Sponsor’s newsletters, on Sponsor, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc. websites and social networking webpages without additional compensation. All entries, as applicable, become property of Sponsors and none will be acknowledged or returned.

    8.   Personal Information: Sponsor may collect personal data about entrants online, in accordance with its privacy policy and as may be more specifically set forth in these Official Rules.  Please review the Official Rules and Sponsor’s privacy policy at http://www.ChefTalk.com/a/terms-of-service. As a result of Sponsor’s relationship with ChefTalk.com and Wikia, Inc. the policies and procedures described in the privacy policy govern and apply equally to ChefTalk.com and Wikia, Inc. with respect to ChefTalk.com and Wikia’s use and disclosure of personal information from users participating in the Handcrafted Coop’s “Best Advice” Contest, whether ChefTalk.com or Wikia collects such information itself or receive such information from Sponsor.  By participating in the Contest, entrants hereby agree to Sponsor’s, ChefTalk.com, and Wikia, Inc.’s collection and use of their personal information and acknowledge that they have read and accepted these Official Rules and privacy policy.

    9.  Winner’s List:  Winner will be posted on the ChefTalk.com website no later than 07/20/15.

    These Official Rules are governed by the law of the State of California, without reference to rules governing choice of laws. Any action, suit or case arising out of, or in connection with, this Contest or these Official Rules must be brought in either the federal courts located in the Northern district of California or the state courts located in San Francisco, California.

    Share This Article

Comments

To make a comment simply sign up and become a member!
  1. nicko
    We will get this posted today sorry for the delay.
  2. torchskitchen
    So it's way past 7/20/15...who won the contest?
  3. devildog1986
    When I started searching for Culinary schools, I started with the search "Best culinary schools in the U.S." From there i narrowed it down to the ones in Texas. I ended up attending Le Cordon Bleu in Austin TX. Theres been several Pros and Cons, which make it difficult to say if it is a good review or a bad review. I would much rather call it a neutral review. Le Cordon Bleu is a for profit school. Their job is to bring as many people in to the school as possible. Keeping that in mind, it is not a cheap school to attend. However the instructors in there are highly dedicated to help you learn and improve your skills. if you go in thinking your the best because you have a little experience, you will not last. the first couple of months are just basics, and yes boring at times, but when you get past your foundations courses the fun really starts. So what i mean by that, is don't give up after the first month or so. Like i said the instructors are amazing. They have a lot of experience and make it their goal for you to completely understand everything. The offices however are horrible. There is always lack of communication when you are trying to get answers for certain things. One thing that really bothered me was the constant changing of your academic plan. you start following it first, but then they stick you in classes that need to get filled up. I believe there is a lack of order with the school system, and that makes the school loose points in my books. The reason I keep stating the instructors are great, is because many of them want you to understand how food works and how your taste buds work. They want you to know how to balance flavors and how to complement different ingredients. It is a very fast pace school. Everything is divided into 6 weeks blocks, so it is up to you to practice what you have learned to be able and retain it. They cover a lot of things in a really face pace. So notes are very important. learn your butcher cuts before or while you attend Le Cordon Bleu because aside from processing chicken , you get no hands on when it comes to pork or beef. The job placement is something I actually really enjoy from the school. They want to make sure you get a job. You need a job before you can even graduate. Which is a big plus on my books. Many people that go to college now-a-day work hard to earn their degrees, and then can not even use it after. In Le Cordon Bleu Austin, they want to make sure you put your degree to good use. I hope this review helps at least one person to make a choice.  Thank you for your time
  4. stevanus pv
    Poor me, dont you have contest for asia region ?
  5. harrisonh
    for those who are impressed by the beautiful prizes, you can learn more about the company here
    Be sure to give them a view, they've got some amazing products and you can find out just how special a spirit blade is. I'm starting to save up now!
    https://www.jendeindustries.com/
  6. harrisonh
    I added a review, but I couldn't add a picture. Is there a way to add the image once the review is already posted?
  7. nicko
  8. chef b
    My experience with culinary schools has come full circle.
    After graduating from the CIA in '84, I now find myself as a chef/instructor at a NYC high school.
    I have to admit that I am not so certain that going to culinary school is essential anymore.
    Granted, I am a little biased here. I still think that if you're going to go through all of the expense and time of going to school, you might as well go to the best. In my eyes that would be the Culinary Institute of America.
    When I graduated the school only offered an AOS in Culinary Arts. Now you can earn a BA in a few different disciplines. That's very important if the kitchen life is not for you. You can always concentrate on the business side of the industry.
    I visited in October of '14 and after being away for 30 years the place still felt hallowed and I knew that what was being taught was pertinent and rigorous.
    Every aspect of this institution and campus is top notch and it attracts sponsorships and relationships from the top businesses and associations from all over the world. Nothing is done half-way. It is the cream of the crop, no questions asked.
    But, you have to ask yourself; are you ready to go into debt and realize that when you graduate you are not a chef? And everything you learn will not translate immediately into your daily bottom-of-the-totem-pole tasks. It will take years of learning and paying your dues before all you learned starts to make sense.
    That's why it's a growing popular belief now is that one should go and just begin to work instead of "wasting" time and money for so long.
    As I said earlier, I'm on the fence about going to school now. But, I am 100% certain that the CIA will offer the best culinary education available anywhere.
  9. wangxing
    I attended the Le Cordon Bleu CCA school in San Francisco graduating in 2007.  I liked my instructors although I was told once I graduated that if I even considered working in Europe I would require another TWO YEARS training under a chef which I would have to pay for, that my CCA training wasn't worth anything.  I was very disappointed.  Also, I wondered why the CCA did not have a combined pastry savory program but two programs, one savory, the other pastry.  I felt lacking in the six weeks of pastry classes and still to this day am trying to work on recipes.  I loved my European teachers, although I had difficulty understanding them.  Then I was very upset because we were promised that we would be able to get good salaries once we graduated and it turned out many of us only received minimum wages or, in my case, not able to work at all.  I was told that the CCSF culinary program is a good program although it runs four years.  The internship is about the same as the CCA at much less of the cost.  If I had it to do all over again, I would have attended the CCSF culinary program and saved myself a lot of money and probably gotten better instruction.  I agree with another student who stated that many of the students were there just to be there, not really wanting to cook.  For those of us who really love cooking, it really pulled us down.  I didn't feel that we got the instruction that we truly needed to really work well as professional chefs.  Even now, I take lessons when I can from professional chefs and cook on Saturdays teaching people and putting out lunch for around 125 to 150 people.  I truly wish the training had been more detailed.
  10. berndy
    Nicko, I did my Apprenticeship in Stuttgart, Germany